Lines…Lijnenspel…

Recently I saw this documentary about this famous fashion photographer Peter Lindbergh, he says that when you photograph in black and white the photo looks more intense. According to his opinion and natural feeling for the beauty he claims and this means also for portrait photography that black and white gives more depth to the subject that is portrayed. It gives more focus to it. It’s as if black and white get more absorbed by the pores of the skin of the person that is photographed. The same happens to be with objects. Personally, I discovered that when I see a photo in color it distracts my eyes more.The eyes get more attracted to all the stuff that is around the subject.Black and white seem to calm the eyes more and it brings the eyes directly to the main focus. Of course, it all depends also on the meaning of the photographer and or the actual reason behind the scene he created at that moment and the story line he or she had in mind.This picture is taken last year’s summer when I was visiting a friend of mine in Apeldoorn. When I had to wait for the next train, I saw these beautiful lines draw by the light it’s self on the platform. What I find so beautiful is how light and dark are completely balanced which reminds me to say that we have to do this in ourselves too. If you look closer you can observe the gray area where the light is shining too.All together they form a coherence with each other. In this, you see that the surrounding buildings and the waiting train are strengthening this coherence by their slight absence. If you look closer, you can see the contours of a person in his scoot mobile. For me specifically, it was all about the powerful lines that I wanted to focus on.

 

Onlangs zag ik de prachtige documentaire over de beroemde mode fotograaf Peter Lindbergh, hij vertelt dat hij foto’s vaak mooier vind uitkomen als deze zwart-wit gefotografeerd zijn. Naar zijn mening en vooral ook gevoel vindt hij dat zwart-wit zeker ook in portret fotografie meer diepte geeft en dat de expressie van de geportretteerde persoon beter tot uitdrukking komt. Zwart-wit doordrenkt zeg maar  de poriën. Nu moet ik zeggen dat ik foto’s in zwart-wit vaak mooier vind omdat je niet zo afgeleid wordt door wat om het onderwerp heen aanwezig is, wat ik persoonlijk met foto’s in kleur genomen wel bemerk. Mijn ogen gaan eerst naar wat in de omgeving is en dan pas naar het onderwerp. Tuurlijk hangt het ook af van de scene die gefotografeerd is en wat de bedoeling of achterliggende gedachte was of verhaallijn die de fotograaf in gedachten had tijdens de shoot. Deze foto is genomen vorig jaar zomer toen ik onderweg was naar een vriendin van mij in Apeldoorn. Al wachtende op de trein zag ik dit prachtige lijnenspel afgetekend op het perron. Het mooie is ook hoe het licht en het donker evenredig aan elkaar aanwezig zijn, hierdoor ontstaat er een zekere balans tussen de twee. Wat mij vertelt dat we dit ook in ons zelf hebben te doen. Daarnaast zie je ook het grijze gebied waar het licht ook in schijnt alle drie vormen ze een eenheid met elkaar  en in dit geheel zie je dat de gebouwen en de stilstaande trein juist deze eenheid versterken door niet al te aanwezig te zijn. Als je verder goed kijkt zie je de contouren van een persoon in een scootmobiel.Maar mij ging het in specifiek om dit krachtige lijnenspel en dat heb ik bewust meer naar voren laten komen. En dan kan je zien hoe dit zo mooi tot uitdrukking komt in zwart-wit…

Geef een reactie

Blog op WordPress.com.

Omhoog ↑

